Examinations and Assessments

Exams and how you’re assessed

Professional recognition and SQA accreditation

Professional body recognition

Holders of the NEBOSH International General Certificate are entitled to:

  • Associate Membership (AIOSH) of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH). The qualification also meets the academic requirements for Technical Membership (Tech IOSH) of IOSH
Maintaining professional standards

The NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety has been accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Accreditation. It sits in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) at SCQF Level 6 with 11 SCQF credit points.

SCQF Level 6 is comparable to RQF/CQFW Level 3 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

See the Qualifications Can Cross Boundaries chart issued by the UK regulators.

Where appropriate, the SQA Accreditation logo will appear on certificates awarded for this qualification. The SCQF logo, credit and level information will appear on the unit result notification. Please visit the SCQF website for further information on credit and levels.


Confirmation of registration for IG1 digital assessment

Once your Learning Partner has registered you to a digital assessment, NEBOSH will send you a Confirmation of Registration email that includes your learner number, and important information relating to your digital assessment. Please ensure that you check your name is spelt correctly and report this to your learning partner and NEBOSH if any changes are required. If you have not received this email please remember to check your spam folders.

Login details

Following receipt of your Confirmation of Registration email for your digital assessment, NEBOSH will send you a further email containing your Username and Password for the NEBOSH online examination platform. If you have not received this email please remember to check your spam folders.

Examination dates

IG1 – The invigilated paper-based exam has been permanently replaced with a digital assessment. Learners will have 24 hours to access, complete and submit their paper starting from 11am (UK time) on the examination date.

IG1 is available in English, Arabic, French, Portuguese (European), Russian, Spanish (European) and Turkish, however language options will not be available for all sittings.

We have confirmed the following dates for IG1 assessments:

Unit Examination date Results notification date
IG1 (English only) 04 May 2022 15 July 2022
IG1 (all available languages) 08 June 2022 17 August 2022
IG1 (English only) 06 July 2022 15 September 2022
IG1 (English only) 03 August 2022 13 October 2022
IG1 (all available languages) 07 September 2022 16 November 2022
IG1 (English only) 05 October 2022 14 December 2022
IG1 (English only) 02 November 2022 20 January 2023
IG1 (all available languages) 07 December 2022 24 February 2023
IG1 (English only) 18 January 2023 29 march 2023
IG1 (English only) 08 February 2023 21 April 2023
IG1 (all available languages) 08 March 2023 22 May 2023
IG1 (English only) 05 April 2023 20 June 2023
IG1 (English only) 03 May 2023 13 July 2023
IG1 (all available languages) 07 June 2023 16 August 2023
IG1 (English only) 05 July 2023 14 September 2023
IG1 (English only) 09 August 2023 19 October 2023
IG1 (all available languages) 06 September 2023 15 November 2023
IG1 (English only) 04 October 2023 13 December 2023
IG1 (English only) 08 November 2023 25 January 2024
IG1 (all available languages) 06 December 2023 22 February 2024

IG2 – The practical unit IG2 will continue to be assessed as usual, please speak to your Learning Partner for further information.

Examination results

All results for assessments taken in English (including those for the practical application) should be received within 50 working days from the date of the examination or submission of assignment. The specific date is written on your assessment registration confirmation.

What next?

Further study

For learners wishing to continue their professional development NEBOSH offers a wide range of internationally recognised qualifications.

Our range of Award and Certificate level qualifications offer the opportunity to learn specific industry applications – such as process safety, construction, environmental management and leadership – or hone in on specific skills such as incident investigation.

For those wishing to study at a higher level, the NEBOSH Diplomas or Masters qualification offer the opportunity to gain one of the sector’s most prestigious qualifications.